Samstag, 16. April 2016 | 10.00 Uhr
Grosse Landesausstellung „4.000 Jahre Pfahlbauten“
Set in a secluded valley in the Black Forest, Allerheiligen Monastery was founded in the late 12th century by Uta of Schauenburg. In 1657, the Premonstratensian monastery became an abbey and was updated in the Baroque style. Through the provision of pastoral care and a school run by monks, Allerheiligen exerted great religious and cultural influence over the surrounding region of the Black Forest.
In solitary splendour: the former monastery is located in a valley in the depths of the Black Forest.
At the beginning of the 19th century, much church property passed into the possession of German states. For Allerheiligen, as in many other places, this signified more than just the end of monastic life; buildings were used for other purposes and ultimately fell into disrepair.
After a fire, approval was given to demolish the remaining structures. But the ruined monastery church soon won new fame: in the age of Romanticism, the atmospheric ruins, buried deep in the Black Forest, suddenly regained appeal. The crumbling walls and broken arches became a symbol of bygone grandeur in unspoilt natural surroundings.
After the nearby Büttenstein waterfall was made more accessible, Allerheiligen developed into a popular tourist attraction – with the author Mark Twain among the many visitors.
Allerheiligen offers a sublime juxtaposition of romantic ruins and stunning natural beauty: the path up to the former monastery threads along a ravine, past the highest natural waterfalls in the Black Forest.
After the climb, the Klosterhof inn provides a welcome opportunity for rest and refreshments. On the monastery grounds, visitors can view a permanent exhibition on the history of Allerheiligen, in a restored building. In summer, the site serves as a spectacular open-air theatre.